Skip to content

Anniversaries

March 2, 2011

It was the best of times; it was the worst of times…Thank you Charles Dickens for a most appropriate description of the wedding anniversaries we have experienced over the years. As our 33rd anniversary approaches, I realize that celebrating our anniversary has been a mixed bag. Two days before our wedding an ice storm rolled in and prevented the Illinois relatives from attending. But even as we skirted the ice on our wedding day, the sun came out and we had a bright, clear day. It turns out that celebrating an early March anniversary can be tricky.

On our 3rd anniversary, the early March winds kicked up. My brother was getting his pilot’s license and invited to take me up during one of his lessons. I didn’t know how susceptible to motion sickness I was. When the vomiting started, his lesson was cut short and I had to cancel the plans that night for our anniversary dinner as I was green until the next day.

On our 15th anniversary we dined at a French restaurant. I was surprised that after dinner a tiny jeweler’s box appeared on the table. My husband, with no prodding from me, gifted me with pearl earrings. I, with no prodding from him, quietly produced a top-of-the-line tool belt for him. Okay this wasn’t quite a re-enactment of The Gift of the Magi but it held special meaning for us.

On our 18th anniversary we celebrated with dinner and a show. We dined at a nice restaurant and as we were leaving, the Maitre D’ asked us if we needed a ride to the show. He put us in a limousine and off we went. It was fun to leave the playhouse after the show and step into the limousine that was waiting for us as though that was always how we traveled.

Our 20th wedding anniversary found my husband wrapped in a blanket on the sofa with the coughing-aching-sneezing flu while our youngest daughter was vomiting and running a fever and our oldest daughter was following me around in a semi-panic because she didn’t want to catch either virus. I just kept washing my hands and administering aid to all.

On our 25th wedding anniversary, we had planned a weekend trip out of state. But on the day of our Silver Wedding Anniversary my husband had surgery to put the bones in his ankle back together because  a few days prior he was running a last minute item to the garbage cans at the curb and slipped on….you guessed it…ice.

On our 25th – Part II anniversary, that summer we took our daughters with us as we experienced a flawless and enjoyable Hawaiian vacation. I like to think of that as our real anniversary celebration.

Of course there have been many anniversaries in between. 33 years ago when we promised for better or worse we really didn’t think that applied to anniversary celebrations, but we have enjoyed them no matter what the circumstances.

~Terri

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    May 4, 2011 6:55 pm

    My husband and I ae approaching our 11th year of marriage. It would not of lasted with out the tools marriage works gave us. It turned our marriage around and we stayed together. Im forever greatful!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Meeting Each Other’s Needs is Not Just for Anniversaries! «

Leave a Reply

