Skip to content

Gutting Houses, Building Love

February 14, 2011

Mud-covered and sweaty from a hard day’s work gutting a house in New Orleans is when I first knew I wanted to be with that cute blonde girl with super curly hair. Let me back-up and explain how this came to be. I decided to go on a trip to Chicago over spring break with a group from Wright State University. Jennifer Bonny decided to go to Louisiana to help with Hurricane Katrina disaster relief efforts. The morning they were going to leave I invited their team over to have breakfast at my house. The only person that came was Jennifer. After an hour or two of chatting over breakfast I decided that I needed to go to Louisiana. With only a half-hour to go I canceled my trip to Chicago, packed my bags, and got to Wright State. The rest of the week turned out to be the best trip I have ever taken in my entire life. Gutting houses is a messy business. Sludge, mud, dust, waste and other materials (you can use your imagination) ended up all over us. As I looked through the rubble and debris all I could think of was how amazing and beautiful Jennifer was, even with a respirator mask on! I will never forget calling up my best friend in the middle of the night from the abandoned grocery store we were staying in explaining how I was falling head over heels for this girl. As the week developed, I knew that I wanted to be with her and only her. She was, is, and always will be a keeper and now her name is Jennifer Squire!

~Mike

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joyce Godman permalink
    February 14, 2011 4:02 pm

    Michael, I couldn’t have been more prouder of you than when I read your beautiful story. I love you very much for the wonderful person, son, brother, grandson, nephew and husband you have become. I love you for the spirit of God that has blessed you. Love, Grandma Joyce

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Gutting Houses, Building Love « -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

