Skip to content

The Strongest People

February 8, 2011

My grandfather once told my sister that the two things he was the most proud of in his life as a Baltimore City cop was his relationship with my grandmother and the fact that all of his children are still married to the same person they originally said, “I do” to, all ten of them!  With a family that size, I see a wide variety of marriages. Undoubtedly differences abound between all of those marriages, but despite those differences they all share remarkable compatibility, strength, and resolve.

That shared compatibility, strength, and resolve are evident in all of them because they have also all shared in hardships and trials that none of us would wish on anyone.  We would never wish for someone to lose a child, lose a spouse, suffer from a lifelong illness, or any number of other marital trials.  Those are just several of the trials that my family’s marriages have faced, and they are certainly not unique to my family alone.

So, are their marriages work?  Definitely, they all work at their marriages.  Through all of that work they hone their ability to cope, adapt, and most importantly, love.  They still smile and roll their eyes at some of those quirks that never die (and there are plenty of those), laugh and reminisce about things long past, and make plans for future adventures.  They challenge when necessary, and support always.  As a 23 year old bachelor, if I can have a marriage half as strong as my siblings, aunts, uncles, and grandparents, then I’ll have been successful. So, I know marriage is not always easy and it’s not a walk in the park, but I think that’s why the strongest people I know always seem to come in pairs.

Spencer Hargadon

High School Presenter

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 4:05 pm

    This is a wonderful reminder that marriages can and DO work. My wife is the strongest part of me, and I can’t imagine not having her in my life.

Leave a Reply

